Skip to content

Still Following Jesus.

October 15, 2013

Hi, I’m still following Jesus today.  You may think that a strange thing to say, but there is this old hymn line that says “prone to wander Lord I feel it, prone to leave the God I love.”  You see, I’ve found out over the years that most people I know have gone through times of greater and lesser faithfulness to Christ.  I in fact have teetered on the edge of unbelief many times.  Do you find that disturbing?  That’s ok.  So do I.  But there is nothing else I can say that would be more truthful.  I don’t know if this is the first time you’ve read my blog or the fiftieth.  It won’t take you long to notice that I have been pretty sporadic to say the least.  I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what it means to be a Christian and what it really means to have saving faith.  The truth is that belief is hard to hang on to at times, but the biblical truth is that God is there upholding us when we are barely clinging to Him.

2 Timothy 2:13 “if we are faithless, he remains faithful—for he cannot deny himself.”

You see faith is really not a function of the will of any man or woman, but the function of the will of God working out in the renewed soul.   Without God’s help, without God’s faithfulness bearing us up we would surely fall.  But we shall not fall, we cannot fall.  He can’t deny himself.  I have made a habit of following God in strength of faith for many years, however, over the past year or so I have been following God out of great weakness.  I have to be honest with you.  It was much easier the other way.  Weakness is something hard to admit, hard to live, hard to embrace.  so I’m thinking maybe that taking some time to sit down and share what I think may be helpful for those who may stumble across my ramblings.  Frankly, it may be more helpful to me than to you.  but at least if you don’t find anything helpful you can link to my wife’s blog (she’s a much better writer than I).

So the plan is to just share a few things over the next few posts about weakness, both bad and good.  The bible teaches us in Romans 8 that God causes all things to work for the good to those that love and follow Jesus.  That means even the things that are hardest to handle in life are for our good and His glory.  There is joy to be found in every trying time.

From → Jesus

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment